Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > Share Worlds

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
Mr Kidnapper
Senior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 442
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default 11-06-2011, 12:26 AM

I can prove you wrong there. Even though this is a superbump of a 1 year old thread. Many budget build desktops use 5400 RPM hard drives. Many TB range hard drives go 7200RPM. The high end HDDs run at 10800-15000 RPM. Essentially, depending on your RPM, your computer's power could change. Though all the rules change if you own a SSD.

Last edited by Mr Kidnapper; 11-06-2011 at 12:28 AM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Powerhouse64
Senior Member
 
Powerhouse64's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 54
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: In ur base, movin ur stuffs
Default 11-06-2011, 12:38 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Kidnapper View Post
I can prove you wrong there. Even though this is a superbump of a 1 year old thread. Many budget build desktops use 5400 RPM hard drives. Many TB range hard drives go 7200RPM. The high end HDDs run at 10800-15000 RPM. Essentially, depending on your RPM, your computer's power could change. Though all the rules change if you own a SSD.
You, sir, just proved me wrong. I was thinking purely in terms of processing speed, but you are completely correct here. That's quite humbling! That totally slipped my mind, and now I feel quite rude for jumping on Jedi's back like that! I actually do appreciate you saying this, because you're totally right, and Jedi deserves an apology from me.

Dear Jedi,

I sincerely apologize for attempting to prove you wrong. My intention was not to harm or defame you, however it may be interpreted that way. I ask that you disregard any ill feelings that you hold towards me, in hopes that we may remain fellows.

Kindly yours,
-Powerhouse64

Crap! That's as close to a cursive signature I could get


Hogwarts: Where everything is made up, and the points don't matter
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 11-06-2011, 01:05 AM

But that doesn't make what powerhouse said any less true.

Fact is you CAN have lots of storage space and still have a computer that can't access that space very quickly. Sure, there are exceptions, and you could argue that a large amount of storage space generally means a high RPM (or access time, given an SSD), but the fact of the matter is one impressive statistic does not an impressive computer make.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Mr Kidnapper
Senior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 442
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default 11-06-2011, 01:16 AM

Well if Pinocchio had a long enough nose you'd say he had a pretty impressive nose wouldn't you? *Cough.*
Also problem: Many people misinterpret the idea of memory. People are viewing it as RAM in any situation while they should be viewing it as 'space' in general. HDD space's true name is called Physical Memory, and it is nonvolatile memory. This is noticeably less misinterpreted in foreign countries such as Japan, where they ask "How much memory does this hard drive have?" rather than "How big is this hard drive?" RAM is volatile memory attached directly to the motherboard and is designed to be assigned, reassigned, and cleared in cycles you can hardly detect.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 11-06-2011, 08:09 AM

True, but again, a large hard drive does not a supercomputer make.

In fact, the better the quality hard drive you have, the better your other equipment has to be to utilize any extra functionality the hard drive would offer. A computer is only as strong as its weakest link.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Powerhouse64
Senior Member
 
Powerhouse64's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 54
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: In ur base, movin ur stuffs
Default 11-06-2011, 10:59 AM

I really need to stop commenting on these old threads and derailing them XD. Last night was a slow night on the forums and I entertained myself by going through old threads 'cause I'm cool like that


Hogwarts: Where everything is made up, and the points don't matter
   
Reply With Quote
Old
GameKid
Senior Member
 
GameKid's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 467
Join Date: May 2011
Location: My magnificent castle
Default 11-12-2011, 11:17 PM

I don't get it. Is this just a test of computer speed? It doesn't have any user-based events, so I can't do anything.


[COLOR=e4eaf2]Your text here[/COLOR]
Come on, you know you want to try it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
DensetsuNoKaboom
Senior Member
 
DensetsuNoKaboom's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,188
Join Date: May 2010
Location: e4eaf2
Default 11-13-2011, 08:13 AM

I think it's supposed to be a solution to a puzzle.


Thank you for taking the time to read this signature. This signature loves you.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
GameKid
Senior Member
 
GameKid's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 467
Join Date: May 2011
Location: My magnificent castle
Default 11-13-2011, 01:28 PM

Oh. Simply a soloution.
I believe it would be easier to put a soloution on another format, say, GIF, or a video with sound?


[COLOR=e4eaf2]Your text here[/COLOR]
Come on, you know you want to try it.
   
Reply With Quote
Towers of Hanoi
Old
Dulphins
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Phoenix
Default Towers of Hanoi - 02-04-2012, 05:16 PM

How do I get the disks set on the first cone initially to begin?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
towers of hanoi puzzle

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2024, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x © 1999-2012, Alice 3.x © 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.