Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > General Discussion > Questions and Comments

New to Alice with a suggestion !
Old
Mike Lucey

Smile New to Alice with a suggestion ! - 09-03-2006, 05:24 PM

Hi All,

I'm a total Newbie to Alice and have only yet explored this wonderful program. I hope in time to get to grips with it and be able to produce some useful stuff.

I have a suggestion that may be interesting to some users that might be wish to create their own 3D models with some ease. I have been using SketchUp for some time now and find it marvelous when it comes to building 3D models, mostly buildings.

I have been able to import these models via 3DS export in SketchUp and the program advised by Alice. The only draw back is that SketchUp Pro exports 3DS but the free Google SketchUp could be used for learning, which I might add will not take too long for the average user. There are also a huge number of free SketchUp models on the SketchUp site. www.sketchup.com

Mike

SketchUp to Alice
Old
DrJim

Default SketchUp to Alice - 09-04-2006, 10:58 AM

In theory, you can convert a file from SketchUp to Alice import format (.ase) through Blender and then 4D Blue. Both are free - I’ve attached screen shots of the import and export options for each.

I say “in theory” because I haven’t actually tried that particular conversion and my overall success rate going through both programs is poor. When it does work, however, the results can be very nice.

I also have been unsuccessful in importing textures with meshes - believe I’ve read that that is a limitation of the .ase format but can’t find the reference right now.

If you are successful, please post the results. I agree that SketchUp is a good, user friendly 3D graphics program.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Import&Export.zip (153.6 KB, 615 views)

Old
Mike Lucey

Default 09-04-2006, 07:53 PM

Hi Dr Jim,