Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > How do I...?

How do you make an alice person character walk
Old
eastondowdy

Smile How do you make an alice person character walk - 01-21-2009, 10:59 PM

Ok, first of all, i downloaded this program after reading Randy Pausch's last lecture (which im sure millions have). I am an artist and i am hoping to go into programming and animation (movies, videogames, applications, tv) and character design, so i thought i would start with alice. alas i have already met a problem though. I cant figure out how to make a person realistically walk. When i choose move, the figure obviously just literally moves forward with no bodily motion (legs and arms and torso dont shift or even move a little) i understand this is to be expected, so i tried using the roll and turn and what not, but every time i try to roll the leg, it only lets me go left or right in rotation to the direction the torso is facing. i want know how to tilt the leg forward (foot towards the camera) to make like a rudementary walk. even if it ends up looking like a basic nazi march walk at least ive accomplished a short term goal. i refuse to just drop this even if it seems stupid and simple to an advanced programmer. sorry if there are any spelling errors, and i also apologize ahead of time if i am missing something obvious, i am a noob after all.

thank you to anyone who can help me with this issue, i really am very determined to make this work

EDIT: Wow, thank you so much rocky, Jim, and rich, it is 11:22 where i am and i have just made a man run, even better i have made him run in slow motion (on purpose) towards the camera, much like a bay watch scene, and it stops with his shins in the camera, my next goal is to make him stop just short enough so that you can see his entire figure, and then i want him to flex. i am making it to show my girlfriend more than anything and i think it will make her giggle.