Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Educators > Teaching with Alice

Question for programming teachers only
Old
gunny

Default Question for programming teachers only - 05-19-2008, 04:37 PM

I am the IT guy at a small private high school. i used to be a CS and math teacher. The present programming teacher is struggling to teach most of his class. I think I know why but am searching for educated opinions. At present we use VB6. If done right i feel it is as good a teaching language as any "commercially used" language. I think the problem is not the language that is being taught but the fact he is teaching a language without the students understanding how to design a structured program. They do not have a clue as to what they are trying to do with the language. I was looking through the Alice programming books I have (4) and I see the same problem. Each has at most two pages on design. Years ago when I started this whole computer programming thing we spent weeks on design; flow charts, pseudo-code, variable lists, etc. When I worked in the programming industry it was the same thing; a large amount of time spent on design while the actual writing of code was the final, minor step to the project that we farmed out to Vietnam (literally). The VB text book he uses does very little design prep. All the texts I have looked at lately preach to the God of Code. I would like a curriculum and text that is 50% design and 50% code, maybe even 70/30. Alice has the intent of reducing the dependence on having to learn to type code but all the print books and ebooks are glorified tutorials on code. Am I off base here? I can see the kids are struggling with basic understanding of the program's objective, they do not seem to understand the fundamentals of programming and the whole program design phase seems to be missing from what they are taught. Comments?

Added Questions
Old
DrJim

Default Added Questions - 05-22-2008, 11:41 AM