Alice Community

Alice Community (http://www.alice.org/community/index.php)
-   Share Worlds (http://www.alice.org/community/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Release: Alice Online (http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4425)

arty-fishL 07-13-2012 07:21 AM

[LEFT]Zenteo's server application will work fine, but it's hard to create something from it. Zone, Jedi and my connection test requires Zone to switch his server on, but he is never on anymore. My server application is still coming, just have to wait until I get back from holiday.
[/LEFT]

x2495iiii 07-13-2012 07:51 AM

Excellent. How's your holiday going?

arty-fishL 07-14-2012 02:17 AM

Great, thankyou, missing my pc and PS3, but great otherwise

arty-fishL 07-23-2012 04:32 AM

I would be working on this right now, but I am waiting on a reply from somebody, so please bare with me.

x2495iiii 07-23-2012 10:35 AM

Alright. Take your time.

Rather have a quality product late than a half-finished product on time.

room14 07-30-2012 05:07 AM

Remember me?
 
Wow, I have returned to this site an I find this! I can't believe how much has changed since I left...

Anyway, keep up the work everyone. Hope to hang around here some more.

arty-fishL 08-02-2012 09:50 AM

OK, this is taking a bit more work than I had hoped for, but oh well, can't complain.

I've uploaded the latest project and source code.
[URL]http://code.google.com/p/artyonline/downloads/list[/URL]

I've also uploaded a javadoc for the API that will be used with server scripts, so you can see what you are working with. It's nothing complicated, trust me, so don't worry if you get confused.
[URL]http://artyfl.tk/aodb/resources/server/doc/[/URL]

ETA: not that long away.

PS: hi room14 :)

arty-fishL 08-04-2012 06:42 PM

I've got the server scripts up and running. Server scripts are JavaScript files that go with a world and are bound to a server so that you can customise how the server handles certain events.

I've written an example server script for a tic-tac-toe game (I will make the world later). [URL="http://tinypaste.com/b3800bac"]Click me to view it[/URL].

These are very basic when you actually start to work with them. JavaScript is also a very easy language to use.

bumenot 08-12-2012 08:35 AM

What if we were to tell each other our IP adresses, would we be able to connect with one another?

drellem 08-12-2012 03:22 PM

Yes. That's pretty much it.

arty-fishL 08-12-2012 04:31 PM

[QUOTE=bumenot;50732]What if we were to tell each other our IP adresses, would we be able to connect with one another?[/QUOTE]Yes, and there will be a server browser, where you can publish and connect to servers from.

You're new here, links in your signature (advertising) is not OK, its against forum policy.

arty-fishL 08-19-2012 07:19 PM

Still working on it
 
Just to let you know that this isn't dead.
Me and drellem have been working on it for a while now. It's took longer because we added many extra features than I had originally intended adding, plus, as I said at the time, I was on holiday for 3 weeks in the middle. Drellem has been a great help though.

Latest screenshots (click on them to view them fullsize):
[URL="http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/809/artyonlineserverapp.png/"][IMG]http://img809.imageshack.us/img809/1831/artyonlineserverapp.th.png[/IMG][/URL]
[URL="http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/864/artyonlineclientside.png/"][IMG]http://img864.imageshack.us/img864/7646/artyonlineclientside.th.png[/IMG][/URL]
They are just preliminary, some of the things you see there will be different and the world is just a test, I'm sure far greater things than tic-tac-toe will be made.

beachbum111111 08-19-2012 07:36 PM

How will multiplayer work if you only have one camera? When you post this can you please post an example world?

arty-fishL 08-19-2012 07:43 PM

[QUOTE=beachbum111111;50784]How will multiplayer work if you only have one camera? When you post this can you please post an example world?[/QUOTE]I'm not too sure what you mean. This isn't split screen multiplayer, this is online multiplayer, between several computers anywhere in the world. You don't need multiple cameras, because each person can only see themselves, like any online multiplayer game (ie. Minecraft).

I can't post an exemplar world, because it all isn't finished, mainly user accounts, which are required to login.

beachbum111111 08-19-2012 08:24 PM

Ok. I meant was how does the other player spawn? What if the player is made up of multiple objects? Or if the game is third person? Does the multiplayer just duplicate the variebles and methods of anything related to the camera or is there a special "player" option?

arty-fishL 08-19-2012 08:48 PM

[QUOTE=beachbum111111;50786]Ok. I meant was how does the other player spawn? What if the player is made up of multiple objects? Or if the game is third person? Does the multiplayer just duplicate the variebles and methods of anything related to the camera or is there a special "player" option?[/QUOTE]
What, I don't know, that's up to you. I provide a tool that connects with the server. You create a server script that goes with your world for the server to run. The tool communicates with the server script (client > server and vice-versa). All it basically does is send variables back and forth, then the server or world handles it.

The tool will inform your world when a player joins, depending on what your game is, you then decide how to handle it. If you want to assign an object to a player, then you can, if you want to just have a chatroom, then you can. There is obviously a not very high upper limit on the amount of people who are going to join, depending on forum activity, so you don't really need to deal with too many objects or too much code.

arty-fishL 10-07-2012 07:45 PM

Previewing Some Stuff (Video)
 
I've just made a quick video of me messing around ArtyOnline and some test worlds. It is beta, so it is rough around the edges.

[URL]http://youtu.be/H54ODfkQrfk[/URL]

Here I'm using two Alice instances on one computer only because I was too lazy to record seperately from another computer. It works fine on multiple computers, so don't worry about that.

dakota95 10-08-2012 01:04 PM

cool. I can't wait for it to be perfected. Btw, I like your wall paper.

InsertName 10-08-2012 02:59 PM

The hype level is rising...

arty-fishL 10-11-2012 04:33 PM

[QUOTE=dakota95;51235]cool. I can't wait for it to be perfected. Btw, I like your wall paper.[/QUOTE]It's really coming along. Its basically finished, just some top server side code left to do and some final tweaks.

Its so nearly finished that me and drellem are currently making worlds for it.

I've got a ton of wallpapers, I'm using a slideshow.

[QUOTE=InsertName;51237]The hype level is rising...[/QUOTE]

I'm actually quite excited myself. I think this could turn out really well, but my biggest fear is that people get a bit alienated by the advanced levels of understanding invloved. I've really done my best to make it as simple as possible and I will provide documentation and full support in person, but its got to have a certain level of advancedness due to the nature of it.

GameKid 10-11-2012 09:03 PM

[QUOTE=arty-fishL;51264]It's really coming along. Its basically finished, just some top server side code left to do and some final tweaks.

Its so nearly finished that me and drellem are currently making worlds for it.
[/QUOTE] :O!
[QUOTE=arty-fishL;51264]
I think this could turn out really well, but my biggest fear is that people get a bit alienated by the advanced levels of understanding invloved.[/QUOTE]

Is it more advanced than sending strings over a server like I thought it would be?

arty-fishL 10-12-2012 08:09 AM

[QUOTE=GameKid;51268]Is it more advanced than sending strings over a server like I thought it would be?[/QUOTE]OK, well here goes a lengthy description ...

The server application can only do so much, it can't guess how your game is played. For this you need to make a server script that will handle incoming and outgoing communications, to do this you need to know JavaScript.

I have simplified the process as much as possible; the server and client coding handles almost everything it can. I've made a simple [URL="http://artyfl.tk/aodb/resources/server/doc/"]API[/URL] to use in server scripts. This does in fact essentially boil down to "sending strings over a server" (server messages, as I've called them), but in a much cleaner way. There are many advanced features that you don't have to use, but they are there.

I've also added object trackers. They track the position and orientation of an object in one user's world and reflect that onto another object in another connected user's world. So you can have moving players, like players in an FPS etc. You basically just set these up from one world (no server script required) and then from another world you can start using them, the internal code handles everything else.
[URL="http://tny.cz/11d651f5"]
[/URL]Here is an example of a Tic-Tac-Toe game's [URL="http://tny.cz/11d651f5"]server script[/URL].

Here is a much simpler example of [URL="http://tny.cz/f5fffdfe"]server script[/URL] for a world where you can move rabbits about (it uses object trackers).

Look at the video posted above to see the two server scripts in action.

drellem 10-17-2012 11:17 PM

[QUOTE=GameKid;51268]:O!


Is it more advanced than sending strings over a server like I thought it would be?[/QUOTE]

What else is there?

beachbum111111 12-03-2012 12:06 PM

Hey arty are you still working on this? I might have a use for it

CurtisJohn 01-27-2013 08:44 PM

Freezes
 
I'm trying to run the world on a mac, but when I run the world it will say:
World Started.
Connection Established.

But then it will freeze before I can do anything, such as move, and when I say freeze it actually locks up the whole Alice program and I can't close it! haha, but please if you can offer any solution to how I can fix this to be playable, I would really appreciate it because I want to incorporate this into some of my projects. Thanks!

phoenix 09-18-2015 10:32 AM

When I download it gives me a .a2w file? Alice 3.2 runs .a3p files. I can't open the world, even when I change the .a2w to a .a3p. Can anyone help out with this?

MrMoke 09-18-2015 12:08 PM

[QUOTE=phoenix;56777]When I download it gives me a .a2w file? Alice 3.2 runs .a3p files. I can't open the world, even when I change the .a2w to a .a3p. Can anyone help out with this?[/QUOTE]

Alice2 worlds use the .a2w extension. They are not compatible with Alice3.

Dameria 09-18-2015 12:16 PM

It's an Alice 2 file. You have to have Alice 2 downloaded to see it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53 PM.

Copyright ©2022, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x © 1999-2012, Alice 3.x © 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.