Alice Community

Alice Community (http://www.alice.org/community/index.php)
-   How Do I? (http://www.alice.org/community/forumdisplay.php?f=28)
-   -   Initialize Random Integer??? (http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=12285)

cpeace 07-22-2021 03:48 PM

Initialize Random Integer???
 
1 Attachment(s)
I am trying to get patches of thistle to pop up at random, and I cannot initialize the random integer to pull from the array. My class is using the Alice 3 in Action with Java textbook that came out in 2015, and I realized today that the textbook doesn't match the version of Alice I have. If anyone knows a workaround, I would REALLY appreciate it!!! This is due Sunday :eek:

I uploaded the file. I really REALLY need help. Thanks in advance!

djslater107 07-23-2021 09:55 AM

Random Array Index
 
Send me an email [email]don@alice.org[/email] if you would like a screenshot. I cannot seem to attach one right now, for some reason.

Click on [B]thistle[/B] in the Move Up instruction.

From the drop-down menu that appears, select thistlePatch[???] at the bottom of the menu then select your random number variable from the sub-menu.

Let me know if you have any other questions.

I hope the helps.

Don Slater
Alice Project

cpeace 07-23-2021 10:45 AM

Thank you! I will need a screenshot. For some reason, some of my thistles think they're rockets and are lifting offscreen.

[QUOTE=djslater107;58886]Send me an email [email]don@alice.org[/email] if you would like a screenshot. I cannot seem to attach one right now, for some reason.

Click on [B]thistle[/B] in the Move Up instruction.

From the drop-down menu that appears, select thistlePatch[???] at the bottom of the menu then select your random number variable from the sub-menu.

Let me know if you have any other questions.

I hope the helps.

Don Slater
Alice Project[/QUOTE]


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04 AM.

Copyright ©2021, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x © 1999-2012, Alice 3.x © 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.