Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > General Discussion > Questions and Comments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
MacBook Air
Old
luvdamac
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jun 2014
Default MacBook Air - 06-07-2014, 07:09 AM

Hello all,
I am just dipping my toes into coding and got Alice recommended to me. I cannot install on my MB Air with mountain lion. I unpack the download and go to start the install but it just closes.

I couldn't find any information as to why it is doing it, any help would be highly regarded.

Cheers
   
Reply With Quote
Check Download instructions.
Old
MrMoke
Senior Member
 
MrMoke's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 501
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Default Check Download instructions. - 06-07-2014, 10:11 AM

The download/install instructions on the Alice Website mention possible problems with installing to Macs, and suggest the workarounds.

Several items specifically mention problems with Mountain Lion and Mavericks.

hope this helps.

http://alice3.pbworks.com/w/page/575...ifiedDeveloper

Last edited by MrMoke; 06-07-2014 at 10:18 AM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
luvdamac
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jun 2014
Default 06-07-2014, 08:44 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMoke View Post
The download/install instructions on the Alice Website mention possible problems with installing to Macs, and suggest the workarounds.

Several items specifically mention problems with Mountain Lion and Mavericks.

hope this helps.

http://alice3.pbworks.com/w/page/575...ifiedDeveloper
Thanks MrMoke, I have read this and seems as though I am not getting any security warning and I have installed the latest Java, I did not think this would be causing the issue. When I click on the install Alice icon, it bounces on the dock a few times then just disappears.

Cheers,
   
Reply With Quote
Oops
Old
MrMoke
Senior Member
 
MrMoke's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 501
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Default Oops - 06-07-2014, 10:35 PM

I forgot to ask which version of Alice you were installing. Alice2 or Alice3. This might help the Alice guys if they are watching.

I assumed it was 3, but there are problems with 2 also.

http://alice3.pbworks.com/w/page/1756703/Alice%20help

Last edited by MrMoke; 06-07-2014 at 10:39 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
jrrTolkien
Senior Member
 
jrrTolkien's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 166
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Middle-Earth (Merrimack, NH)
Default 06-08-2014, 04:13 PM

Yeah, I have only had problems with Alice 3, so I'm pretty sure that what luvdamac is trying to get.

-jrr


Arwen: I would rather share one lifetime with you than face all the Ages of this world alone.

-April Signature
   
Reply With Quote
Old
luvdamac
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jun 2014
Default 06-09-2014, 03:22 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrrTolkien View Post
Yeah, I have only had problems with Alice 3, so I'm pretty sure that what luvdamac is trying to get.

-jrr
sorry for delay guys, yes I am trying 3 (thinking it would be sorted with any issues). Here is an image of the system. Which knowing my lack of technical things - is not sufficient..

https://www.dropbox.com/s/8gyfziertw8ftlt/System.tiff

Last edited by luvdamac; 06-09-2014 at 03:28 AM. Reason: upload system profile
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2020, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.