Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > Works-In-Progress

View Poll Results: What kind of a weapon switch system should I implement?
Ability to switch between all weapons 15 44.12%
Can only have two weapons at a time (must go to a certain place for more options) 19 55.88%
Voters: 34. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
debussybunny563
Senior Member
 
debussybunny563's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 852
Join Date: May 2010
Red face 07-29-2010, 12:41 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by jediaction View Post
I understand, you just started
Eh, kind of. It's just that I have to add many things, so it might be some time before I get to certain aspects of the game. For the moment, I'm working on the walk/run animation for the enemy, and it's very difficult for me to get it to work in terms of making him stop running when he dies. His posture becomes messed up. Oh, well. It's coming along though. Once I get this bug fixed I'll probably post another update.
   
Reply With Quote
Update 7/30/2010
Old
debussybunny563
Senior Member
 
debussybunny563's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 852
Join Date: May 2010
Default Update 7/30/2010 - 07-30-2010, 08:50 PM

I got a really big part of the game up and running... The enemy can run around! It took me a VERY long time to get it bug-free, as there is an animation for the death, and sometimes the enemy is attacking and dying at the same time. But, now it's fixed (tell me if you find any more bugs or glitches).

There are also a bunch of things associated with the running that required complex coding. Basically, the enemy will begin to notice you if you are within 40 meters and in front of him. He'll keep running towards you as long as you are within 60 meters, after which he'll stop, and will also keep running 'till he's within 20 meters, close enough to deal out deadly damage.

There is also a random amount of times he'll shoot at you after he's in range. Basically, I have a loop set up with 5 times. Each time there is a 50% chance he will shoot at you. However, there is no break between shots as it's an if/else clause, so if he doesn't shoot, the else is he does nothing. Expect him to shoot at you anywhere from one to five times (he rarely, if ever shoots zero times) after each chase.

Also improved the recoil (except the AK47), so that it settles down more, but now it can shift to the left and right as well (except the AK47). There is also chance involved there, so 50% of the time your view moves to the left, and 50% to the right. The recoil happens faster than the previous versions, so it's more realistic.

The enemy now can also respawn, so there is unlimited shooting action. Unfortunately, I have not added more enemies yet, as I still want to make sure everything's good before I duplicate.

Things I plan to work on:
As I said, more enemies.
An objective for the enemies, so you're not the main target; they have a mission to complete.
Make the allies do something, as right now they're still static.
Sound. It really helps add depth to a game, and is vital for making a good one.
An HUD. I'll use a system for a radar/map that I found on the forums, and I'll probably add an ammo count as well.

Here it is:
Enjoy!
(Yeah, I know it's called xfinal-posting2, but it is the most updated for now)

Last edited by debussybunny563; 08-14-2010 at 12:15 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
dualshock 3
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Talking dualshock 3 - 08-02-2010, 05:12 AM

I downloaded some software that installs drivers for my ps3 controller and then I installed xpadder, which allows you to assign buttons, triggers, d-pads and sticks to functions and keyboard buttons/ mouse actions on the computer. Then I made an setup for the controller to work like it does in mw2 on both this game and storm. It feels really good using a controller for these games, but I had to reduce the sensitivity in your game as it was too high for the controller. But it made the game a lot more comfortable for me.


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]
   
Reply With Quote
Old
jediaction
Senior Member
 
jediaction's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,064
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bel Air, Maryland
Default 08-02-2010, 10:14 AM

Hold on. You played storm with a ps3 controller. I want to play hero's with my x-box 360 controller. How do you do that Arty?


Website: www.salokingames.com
FaceBook: www.facebook.com/SalokinGames
   
Reply With Quote
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Lightbulb 08-02-2010, 11:44 AM

Im pretty sure xbox 360 controllers are plug-and-play on windows computers (you need extra drivers for ps3 controllers), to use it you need to have it plugged into your computer by USB. If you want it wireless then look here, but usb works fine. If it isnt plug-and-play then please reply and I will look into it if you want.
To make any controller do keyboard and mouse commands just install xpadder, the newest version costs money, but if you google it you can get free versions. Then it is easy to setup.
If you use Vista or 7 then make it run in administrator mode.
Make a profile that has the buttons and mouse controls for Hero as the buttons etc for the controller.

Here is an example profile that could work for Storm:
Attached Images
File Type: jpg XBOX layout.jpg (57.2 KB, 46 views)


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]
   
Reply With Quote
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Arrow 08-02-2010, 11:48 AM

This is the profile I have running for my ps3 controller on this FPS. The up button on the D-pad was just a rapid fire feature I was testing.

If you could make a sensitivity function for this game it would be very useful please
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Xpadder ps3.jpg (59.8 KB, 46 views)


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]
   
Reply With Quote
Old
jediaction
Senior Member
 
jediaction's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,064
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bel Air, Maryland
Default 08-02-2010, 11:51 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by arty-fishL View Post
This is the profile I have running for my ps3 controller on this FPS. The up button on the D-pad was just a rapid fire feature I was testing.

If you could make a sensitivity function for this game it would be very useful please
Hmm, i'll talk to King Gamer about it. But i dont have Ps3 yet, i need X-box controlls. How do you get the program. Haha, oops, i missed the post before, never mind, i found the X-box controller.


Website: www.salokingames.com
FaceBook: www.facebook.com/SalokinGames
   
Reply With Quote
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Default 08-02-2010, 12:09 PM

lol


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]
   
Reply With Quote
Old
jediaction
Senior Member
 
jediaction's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,064
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bel Air, Maryland
Default 08-03-2010, 02:14 PM

So, how do you get the program?


Website: www.salokingames.com
FaceBook: www.facebook.com/SalokinGames
   
Reply With Quote
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Arrow 08-04-2010, 05:19 AM

google it

Here's a link to a page with a download for it anyway:
xpadder 5.3
I cant find the link I know is reliable for the free xpadder 5.7 , but 5.3 works just as well.


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cool, fps, game, gun, gun shooting game, shooting, x-final

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2020, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.