Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > General Discussion > Questions and Comments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
remove item from list
Old
jnawrocki
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 32
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Toledo, OH
Default remove item from list - 03-02-2010, 06:07 PM

I just created a list. However, I wasn't paying attention and I added an extra item in the Create New Variable message box. I noticed the extra item after clicking Okay. Is there any way to delete just this one extra item from the list--drag to garbage can, etc. I don't want to use a list method (remove item from end of list). The only thing I could figure out was to delete the entire list and begin again.

Thanks
Jane
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 03-02-2010, 09:38 PM

Unfortunately, once you add an extra item to the list, your options are to add a dummy object to the list that can be modified just as any other object in the list can without affecting your world, or to delete the whole list and restart.

Sorry.


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
jediaction
Senior Member
 
jediaction's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,064
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bel Air, Maryland
Default 03-03-2010, 07:20 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by jnawrocki View Post
I just created a list. However, I wasn't paying attention and I added an extra item in the Create New Variable message box. I noticed the extra item after clicking Okay. Is there any way to delete just this one extra item from the list--drag to garbage can, etc. I don't want to use a list method (remove item from end of list). The only thing I could figure out was to delete the entire list and begin again.

Thanks
Jane

This has happened to me recently...like yesterday lol. Sorry but you cannot get rid of it, just put the same object in the list twice and that should help, if not, peave it blank, or just add anotehr object into your game


Website: www.salokingames.com
FaceBook: www.facebook.com/SalokinGames
   
Reply With Quote
Old
zonedabone
Senior Member
 
zonedabone's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 577
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: In the interwebs
Default 03-04-2010, 04:45 PM

Alice 2.0 can remove objects from lists. Try opening it up in there, and then removing it.


'Apple Macintosh' - An anagram of 'Complaints Heap'

M.A.C.I.N.T.O.S.H. - Machine Always Crashes, If Not, The Operating System Hangs.

You're *such* a mac person.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
jediaction
Senior Member
 
jediaction's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,064
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bel Air, Maryland
Default 03-04-2010, 08:09 PM

You can try, but You will get an error if you use a variable


Website: www.salokingames.com
FaceBook: www.facebook.com/SalokinGames
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2020, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.