Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > General Discussion > The Lounge

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Perfect axes!!!!
Old
sfunk
Senior Member
 
sfunk's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,112
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: I don't know
Default Perfect axes!!!! - 07-07-2011, 12:41 AM

I have finally figured out how to get perfect axes in blender!!!!!


If you are stuck on a project, check out the tutorials I made here at this link:

http://alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=36778#post36778

There are lots of tutorials on it so far, including some youtube videos, check it out

Or..

Go to my youtube channel to check out my alice 2.2 tutorials I have there..

http://www.youtube.com/user/sfunk1992?feature=mhsn
   
Reply With Quote
Old
ElectricKirby
Senior Member
 
ElectricKirby's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 164
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dreamland, Planet Popstar
Default 07-07-2011, 02:10 AM

Enlighten us.


My Favorite Resources:
Uploading Images - http://tinypic.com/

File Sharing - http://www.4shared.com/

Textures - http://www.filterforge.com/

Convertible Game-Ripped Models - http://models-resource.com/

Music - http://www.brawlcustommusic.com/gamelist
   
Reply With Quote
Old
sfunk
Senior Member
 
sfunk's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,112
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: I don't know
Default 07-07-2011, 02:16 AM

should I reveal the secret we have all been looking for? or make you figure it out on your own? :P (i'll eventually get an explination up of how to do it, but I want to make sure it's 100% full proof before misleading anyone)(I have only got to check two objects so far, and it seems to work, but im going to make one more model check before explaining)

EDIT: alright, this is what I have found out about Blender, the worlds origin(or where the x,y,z axes meet) is what sets the final pivot point(axes) of an object. so the only possible way I have found (after using all types of constraints and transformations) in blender. so this pretty much the only way you can do it. you have to place all the object at the center of the blender universe to get a perfect axes on an object with subparts. I will make a quick video on what I mean if anyone doesn't understand


If you are stuck on a project, check out the tutorials I made here at this link:

http://alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=36778#post36778

There are lots of tutorials on it so far, including some youtube videos, check it out

Or..

Go to my youtube channel to check out my alice 2.2 tutorials I have there..

http://www.youtube.com/user/sfunk1992?feature=mhsn

Last edited by sfunk; 07-07-2011 at 03:00 AM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
sfunk
Senior Member
 
sfunk's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,112
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: I don't know
Default 07-07-2011, 03:39 AM

here is the link to the youtube video to see how it is done

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yKCa6uQDm0E


If you are stuck on a project, check out the tutorials I made here at this link:

http://alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=36778#post36778

There are lots of tutorials on it so far, including some youtube videos, check it out

Or..

Go to my youtube channel to check out my alice 2.2 tutorials I have there..

http://www.youtube.com/user/sfunk1992?feature=mhsn
   
Reply With Quote
Old
ElectricKirby
Senior Member
 
ElectricKirby's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 164
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dreamland, Planet Popstar
Default 07-07-2011, 02:14 PM

A transcript would be nice because I hate trying to watch video tutorials. Especially from Youtube, and especially with my internet.


My Favorite Resources:
Uploading Images - http://tinypic.com/

File Sharing - http://www.4shared.com/

Textures - http://www.filterforge.com/

Convertible Game-Ripped Models - http://models-resource.com/

Music - http://www.brawlcustommusic.com/gamelist
   
Reply With Quote
Old
InsertName
Senior Member
 
InsertName's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 341
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: In a house
Default 07-07-2011, 02:26 PM

yay


__№_₤⅞__
Handguns: http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=45349
MINECRAFT IN ALICE: http://alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=48208
My Stupid Animations: http://alice.org/community/album.php?albumid=119
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Mr Kidnapper
Senior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 442
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default 07-07-2011, 02:47 PM

Now I understand the trick. This won't work for high detail models, but the point is to move all of the subparts to the origin in blender before exporting to .ASE, then move them back after importing them in Alice. They all always technically had their own pivot points at the origin, he just had to move them to it.
But as I said, it won't work for anything complex. In Blender you could potentially work with complex objects, as all you needed to do was write down the unit distance to the origin and paste them back there when all was done, however in Alice this is not an option as the only form of measure is an arbitrary meter.
As I mess with blender for the second half of what I would call my first hour using it, I realize that it isn't blender that doesn't allow you to save multiple pivot points, it is the .OBJ format.
I imported my almost complete VTOL into Blender as a .3ds file. All of the pivot points, or "Origins" as Blender refers to it, are correctly placed.. With a few mishaps as blender seems to have exploded the model in several hundred directions.
When I export it into blender as an .OBJ file with a Blender preset, all of the origins merge into the center and the object has not exploded. The model is also, for some reason, facing the ground.
Perhaps what you should do is find a way to export to .ASE that does not involve the .OBJ format. I would not be surprised if blender already had a script that would allow it to export to .ASE.

Last edited by Mr Kidnapper; 07-07-2011 at 03:14 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
sfunk
Senior Member
 
sfunk's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,112
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: I don't know
Default 07-07-2011, 03:21 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Kidnapper View Post
Now I understand the trick. This won't work for high detail models, but the point is to move all of the subparts to the origin in blender before exporting to .ASE, then move them back after importing them in Alice. They all always technically had their own pivot points at the origin, he just had to move them to it.
But as I said, it won't work for anything complex. In Blender you could potentially work with complex objects, as all you needed to do was write down the unit distance to the origin and paste them back there when all was done, however in Alice this is not an option as the only form of measure is an arbitrary meter.
As I mess with blender for the second half of what I would call my first hour using it, I realize that it isn't blender that doesn't allow you to save multiple pivot points, it is the .OBJ format.
I imported my almost complete VTOL into Blender as a .3ds file. All of the pivot points, or "Origins" as Blender refers to it, are correctly placed.. With a few mishaps as blender seems to have exploded the model in several hundred directions.
When I export it into blender as an .OBJ file with a Blender preset, all of the origins merge into the center and the object has not exploded. The model is also, for some reason, facing the ground.
Perhaps what you should do is find a way to export to .ASE that does not involve the .OBJ format. I would not be surprised if blender already had a script that would allow it to export to .ASE.
I was actually wondering the same thing about the possible script of exporting as an .ASE, I haven't had time to really look for it, but was planning on doing it soon, because like you said and what I have said before, blender does offer subpart pivot points, it's just the conversion that screws it up. and this way isn't 100% effective since at times rotating an object can throw an error :/


If you are stuck on a project, check out the tutorials I made here at this link:

http://alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=36778#post36778

There are lots of tutorials on it so far, including some youtube videos, check it out

Or..

Go to my youtube channel to check out my alice 2.2 tutorials I have there..

http://www.youtube.com/user/sfunk1992?feature=mhsn
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Mr Kidnapper
Senior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 442
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default 07-07-2011, 05:59 PM

http://www.katsbits.com/smforum/index.php?topic=147.0
That was fast. 5 second Google. Unfortunately this add-on does not work for me, since I use the development build. The export feature shows gray. I don't intend on searching further since the add-on has nothing to do with me.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
sfunk
Senior Member
 
sfunk's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,112
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: I don't know
Default 07-07-2011, 06:15 PM

[QUOTE=Mr Kidnapper;38604]http://www.katsbits.com/smforum/index.php?topic=147.0
That was fast. 5 second Google. QUOTE]

I meant in actually setting it up to use and test


If you are stuck on a project, check out the tutorials I made here at this link:

http://alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=36778#post36778

There are lots of tutorials on it so far, including some youtube videos, check it out

Or..

Go to my youtube channel to check out my alice 2.2 tutorials I have there..

http://www.youtube.com/user/sfunk1992?feature=mhsn
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2020, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.