Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > Works-In-Progress

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Guy with knives chasing
Old
frigging_n00b
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default Guy with knives chasing - 10-16-2005, 10:13 PM

Hi guys,
I'm working on a game for school.
It is my first game, and it is simple.

The objective of the game is to dodge the knives that are chasing you. However, if a knife does get you, a picture comes up, saying that you lost.

I use a If/Else statement to make it happen, but it doesn't work. Can you guys look over it and see whats wrong? Thanks.
Attached Files
File Type: a2w Guy with knifes chasing.a2w (774.9 KB, 750 views)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
gabe
Administrator
 
gabe's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 461
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Default 10-18-2005, 11:23 AM

Some things that might be worth trying out:

-Change your if statement to check all the knives instead of just one. (i.e. if sheriff is within x meters of knife *or* sheriff is within x meters of knife2, *or*..., etc.)

-Change the value that is used for checking if the knife (knives) hit the sheriff to something larger...like 1 meter.

-Zoom in on the sheriff. The camera is a little far away.

-Instead of hiding your billboard, place it exactly how you would like it to appear when visible. Then, change its opacity to 0%. Set its vehicle to the world. Then, in your if statement, replace your code with something like: <billboard> set opacity to <1 (100%)>. This will prevent you from being able to move the camera away from your billboard.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
frigging_n00b
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 10-20-2005, 08:44 PM

Thanks.
I changed the way the camera works, and some other stuff. It actually works now! YAY!

Any more suggestions?

PS: I edited the attachment in my first post. It is an updated version.

EDIT: Wait...I can't change the attachments, sorry, have to double post the updated version....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
gabe
Administrator
 
gabe's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 461
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Exclamation 10-21-2005, 12:40 PM

You should be able to delete your old attachment and upload a new one to your original post (or just add a new one so we see both, if you want). If this didn't work, it's probably because your world was over 1MB, and we're still trying to figure out why our sever won't allow large uploads. If anyone has suggestions on why this is happening, please contact me!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
frigging_n00b
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 10-21-2005, 06:33 PM

Why don't we just put it into a GMail drive?
Here. I'll donate one.

gmail.google.com

User: alicefiles
Password: we1come

Gabe, if you want, put this as the "official" alice file sharing thing.
And just send the file to yourself if you want to share it, naming it appropriately and adding a description of it in the mail.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
kingsamses
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 10-22-2005, 03:17 PM

Only problem with GMail drive is that some random guy could come along, find the user/pass, log on, and delete all our stuff.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
frigging_n00b
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 10-22-2005, 05:07 PM

True, but would this kinf of guy be on an Alice proframming forum?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
kingsamses
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 10-22-2005, 08:00 PM

You never know. Some guy's parents force him into a programming class that he hates. They use Alice. He goes to the Alice website, finds to this thread, and decides that since he hates his class, and in effect, Alice, he'll go and make as much trouble for Alice users as possible by deleting the files in the Gmail drive. Might not be extremely likely, but it could happen.
I think it'd also be a bit more convenient for gabe to get the attachments working and use those. That way you wouldn't have to go to gmail.com and log in to download worlds.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
frigging_n00b
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 10-22-2005, 09:04 PM

Well, let's just use it as a temporary one. My file is in this one. And if some guy just decides to delete it....well, it's not like the one in GMail is the only copy.

And also, is there any way of keeping track of how many seconds one has stayed "alive" for in my game?
And, is there any way to have a restart thing in the game?

Last edited by frigging_n00b; 10-22-2005 at 10:40 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
kingsamses
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 10-24-2005, 04:34 PM

For seconds alive, you could have it run a second method (in the events pane, "When the world starts do [world.secondsalive]") that adds 1 to a variable in the worlds properties, waits a second, then calls itself.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2020, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.