Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > Suggestion Box

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Multiple Cameras
Old
Dameria
Senior Member
 
Dameria's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 978
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Default Multiple Cameras - 12-13-2009, 11:52 AM

I think it would be really cool if there were an option to have another camera, and then you could create a billboard type object within the world that could set it's texture map to the other camera. Then that square would act like a TV, where it would display the actions of the other camera, for instance it would be cool if you could have like a security game where you had camera set up in different places, and then a security room where there are a bunch of TV monitors displaying what is being showed through the other cameras perspectives.


Check out my best projects so far and please comment:

Tic-Tac-Toe 2.0 ................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3548
Alice Paint ........................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=23408
Real-Time Clock .................. http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=12725
Maze Game ......................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4301
   
Reply With Quote
Old
zarfang8
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 12-13-2009, 04:05 PM

Yeah, I was thinking on the lines of this too. It would be great to have two cameras split across the screen for two-player games.

Actually, I really doubt this, but maybe you could somehow import a camera from requiered. But that's a like 1 in 500 chance.

Last edited by zarfang8; 12-13-2009 at 04:08 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
cardsfan527
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Unhappy 12-13-2009, 04:41 PM

I saved a camera as an object on my computer and reimported and had two cameras, but I do not know how to use both.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Delpenator
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 12-13-2009, 07:27 PM

hmmm... i tried that and that did work, but the only way I see being able to use the second camera is as a dummy object.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dameria
Senior Member
 
Dameria's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 978
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Default 12-13-2009, 07:48 PM

Ya I tried that method too and same results, they would have to implement it into part of the program, which is why I am asking in the suggestion box.


Check out my best projects so far and please comment:

Tic-Tac-Toe 2.0 ................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3548
Alice Paint ........................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=23408
Real-Time Clock .................. http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=12725
Maze Game ......................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4301
   
Reply With Quote
Old
jediaction
Senior Member
 
jediaction's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,064
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bel Air, Maryland
Default 03-28-2010, 09:55 AM

The game could be 3d


Website: www.salokingames.com
FaceBook: www.facebook.com/SalokinGames
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2020, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.