Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > Bugs and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Download problems
Old
Publius
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3
Join Date: May 2014
Default Download problems - 05-16-2014, 02:31 PM

Hi, all! New to Alice, as in haven't even managed to try it yet, because I can't seem to download it. When I download the installer, all I get is a txt file which opens by default in Notepad. The contents don't even look like code; it's just page after page of wingdings and gibberish. I've looked around on this forum and found nothing for this; searching on Google, I found other people who've reported the same problem but nobody mentioned a solution that I could find.

I'm running Windows 8, and have the latest version of Java installed.

Any help would be much appreciated!
   
Reply With Quote
Ah!
Old
jrrTolkien
Senior Member
 
jrrTolkien's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 166
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Middle-Earth (Merrimack, NH)
Cool Ah! - 05-16-2014, 08:46 PM

Yes, this happened to me too. I tried editing the name of the file and changing the extension from .txt to .exe, then run it as the installer.

-Jrr
   
Reply With Quote
Oh!
Old
jrrTolkien
Senior Member
 
jrrTolkien's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 166
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Middle-Earth (Merrimack, NH)
Exclamation Oh! - 05-16-2014, 08:48 PM

Oh, right. the "file extension" is the last 3 characters in the file name. You may need to unhide the extension. Post if you don't know how to do that.

-Jrr
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Publius
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3
Join Date: May 2014
Default 05-17-2014, 03:36 AM

I actually tried that...renaming it to .exe did nothing, it still just opened as a text document. Is there another step I'm missing?

Edit: Looking at the file in my download folder, it actually ends with the extension .exe already, but is still described as a "text document" everywhere its properties are described. Maybe there is a hidden extension, in which case I don't know where to find it.

Last edited by Publius; 05-17-2014 at 03:40 AM.
   
Reply With Quote
Well...
Old
jrrTolkien
Senior Member
 
jrrTolkien's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 166
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Middle-Earth (Merrimack, NH)
Cool Well... - 05-17-2014, 08:01 AM

It probable comes like that, but you have to unhide the file extension. Open control panel, select "file and folder options," then "view," and "advanced settings." Next, there will be something saying "hide known file extensions." You want to make sure that this is unchecked. Then, it should show up on your file as .exe.txt. Remove the .txt part and it should be runable. Hope this helps!

-Jrr
   
Reply With Quote
Old
jrrTolkien
Senior Member
 
jrrTolkien's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 166
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Middle-Earth (Merrimack, NH)
Exclamation 05-17-2014, 08:05 AM

Also, is this Alice 3 or Alice 2 that you're trying to get?

-Jrr
   
Reply With Quote
Focus somewhat on download instructions
Old
MrMoke
Senior Member
 
MrMoke's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 501
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Default Focus somewhat on download instructions - 05-17-2014, 10:42 AM

The web site has instructions on the proper procedures. BUT:

For Windows:
With Alice2 (use 2.4.2), I usually do a "save as". This makes sure that the file has a .zip extension, and is stored where you want it. Then just unpack it to desired folder, and go from there.

With Alice3, the install instructions are specific for version 3.1.92 only. The executable for windows is now a .exe file. So far, I have been unable to get it to work on my WIN7 computer, although the older 3.1.81 version works fine with Java8.
   
Reply With Quote
Are you sure?
Old
jrrTolkien
Senior Member
 
jrrTolkien's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 166
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Middle-Earth (Merrimack, NH)
Unhappy Are you sure? - 05-17-2014, 02:29 PM

I don't know. I wanted to try and download the Alice 3 again, and it came as a .txt. I changed it to .exe, and it still won't work. I think that's what happened to Publius as well, except that I don't know what happens when he tries to install it.

-Jrr
   
Reply With Quote
Nope
Old
MrMoke
Senior Member
 
MrMoke's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 501
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Default Nope - 05-17-2014, 05:47 PM

the off-line and on-line installers are executables for the O/S you are using.
.exe for Windows
.tgz for mac
.sh for Linux

Universal is just a .zip that you unpack like the Alice 2 package.

The problem may have something to do with the specific web browser, so I keep Chrome as my backup.

Last edited by MrMoke; 05-17-2014 at 06:02 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Well,
Old
jrrTolkien
Senior Member
 
jrrTolkien's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 166
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Middle-Earth (Merrimack, NH)
Post Well, - 05-17-2014, 08:22 PM

I use firefox most of the time. It is usually less bug-prone than chrome or IE. I should try getting Alice in chrome...

-Jrr
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2020, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.