Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > How do I...?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
How do I make get the perfect bug in ALICE?
Old
rootbeerman77
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Question How do I make get the perfect bug in ALICE? - 12-20-2009, 03:52 AM

Ok so for one of my classes, I want my ALICE animation to end with a fatal bug error report and close the animation. I DO NOT WANT THE BUG TO CLOSE ALICE, JUST THE ANIMATION. Is there a way to program a perfect bug into my program (it can seriously be ANYTHING, even if it's as specific as one 3d figure doing one specific action during one specific circumstance.)

For Instance: when you enlarge Zeus, and have him do a lightning bolt pose, ALICE doesnt know what to do and bugs, but it doesnt exit the program. That would work great but it doesnt quit the animation

Thanks for all your help,
Rootbeerman
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 12-20-2009, 01:34 PM

Supposedly dividing by zero can do that. Give that a shot.


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dameria
Senior Member
 
Dameria's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 978
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Default 12-20-2009, 01:46 PM

You would have to do "Move ground forward (1/0) meters"

When you do 1 meter at first, you just click the arrow next to the 1 and go to Math and do 1/ and then choose 0.

Make that string of code go right after when you want the world to end, if you want you can have a 3d Text say "The End" and then wait 2 seconds, then do the bug.


Check out my best projects so far and please comment:

Tic-Tac-Toe 2.0 ................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3548
Alice Paint ........................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=23408
Real-Time Clock .................. http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=12725
Maze Game ......................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4301
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dameria
Senior Member
 
Dameria's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 978
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Default 12-20-2009, 02:06 PM

Oh and x2495iiii congratulations on your 1,000th post!!! This is a big day in Alice forums history (I guess)


Check out my best projects so far and please comment:

Tic-Tac-Toe 2.0 ................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3548
Alice Paint ........................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=23408
Real-Time Clock .................. http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=12725
Maze Game ......................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4301
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 12-20-2009, 02:27 PM

Thanks. I guess it kinda is, since the only other guy I know of with 1k+ posts DrJim.


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
rootbeerman77
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 12-20-2009, 06:59 PM

Awesome, thanks, both of you

i'm pretty new to ALICE, so that was a great help
   
Reply With Quote
Old
zarfang8
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 12-23-2009, 11:40 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by x2495iiii View Post
Supposedly dividing by zero can do that. Give that a shot.
How?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Chris101b
Senior Member
 
Chris101b's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 361
Join Date: Jun 2007
Default 12-23-2009, 07:52 PM

Tell any object to move forward "1/0" meters. That will cause the program to end.


I am nowhere and everywhere at the same time.

www.facebook.com/chris101b
Xbox Live GT: Chris101b
Youtube: (You guessed it) www.youtube.com/chris101b
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dameria
Senior Member
 
Dameria's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 978
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Default 12-23-2009, 07:53 PM

Congrats on 100th post (although I think it was in another thread). Anyway on first page I have a world that shows how to create the error.


Check out my best projects so far and please comment:

Tic-Tac-Toe 2.0 ................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3548
Alice Paint ........................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=23408
Real-Time Clock .................. http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=12725
Maze Game ......................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4301
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bug, crash, helpme

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2020, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.