Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > How do I...?

movement specific to one method
Old
walleyewilly

Default movement specific to one method - 04-10-2012, 10:16 AM

Hi guys:

I would like to create a scene in which the user is asked to press a key to move after the initial scene that will trigger another scene. When I create this in the event handler it seems that it can be used anytime during the running of the program. Is there a way to limit the use of a key to one method only? I am new to Alice and programming. Thanks, Willy

Old
dakota95

Default 04-11-2012, 08:52 AM

use a number variable. make it so that at the end of one of your methods it changes the number to "5(it doesnt matter which number)" then make a movement method that says "'if' number variable is '5' then move wherever" then at the end of this movement tell it to change the number variable to "6(it just has to be different than the other number i.e. 5)" The way it will work is that as soon as the method is over the variable will make it so that you can move. But as soon as you move then the variable will be different that the "if/else" statements requirements making it so that you cannot move.

<Insert_Signature_Here>

Old
walleyewilly

Default 04-11-2012, 02:17 PM

Thanks, I'll give that a try. Willy

variables
Old
walleyewilly

Default variables - 04-13-2012, 08:04 PM

Hi Dakota: