Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > Bugs and Troubleshooting

Tutorial 4: "Error changing gallery viewer...
Old
kmschinkoeth

Default Tutorial 4: "Error changing gallery viewer... - 04-26-2009, 09:48 AM

...to Home\Local Gallery"

I get this error message after loading my new world (File->New World, then selecting the grass template) and clicking on the "Add Objects" button to expand the 3D world.

Immediately, that error message pops up, in repetition until Alice crashes.

Any ideas?

Thanks! ~k.

FYI: I have Alice 2.2 installed in my Applications folder in OS X. This shouldn't have been installed to the Home folder, should it? Is there a fix so I can leave it in my Applications folder?

Old
HisWorld

Default 04-27-2009, 07:07 AM

I'm not an expert at mac operating systems, but i though OS X didnt have any such limitations. Have you tried using the "required/ifAlicefailstrythis.exe" ?

Old
poetnabotl

Default 05-01-2009, 09:36 PM

Same problem. Suggestions, anyone?

Old
DrJim

Default 05-03-2009, 12:34 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmschinkoeth View Post
This shouldn't have been installed to the Home folder, should it? Is there a fix so I can leave it in my Applications folder?
Not a Mac guy myself, but I suspect this is the problem. On a PC, the .exe file and the Library files have to be in the same folder for the default installation. You may be able to change this - for 2.2 on a PC - I know you can relocate some of the files in that version. If so, the instructions are in a file that is part of the download. Check there to see if you can also do that for a Mac.

Last edited by DrJim; 05-03-2009 at 12:40 PM. Reason: Edited second paragraph.

Any Luck
Old
Gail McDougall

Default Any Luck - 07-18-2009, 06:34 AM

Have you had any luck fixing this problem. I have the same problem.

Same problem here
Old
kdavidson

Default Same problem here - 07-22-2009, 11:29 AM

I get the same thing with Tutorial 4 (running on Mac OS X 10.5.7).