Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > Bugs and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
OutofMemeoryError
Old
Veryuhbull
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default OutofMemeoryError - 07-25-2009, 10:41 AM

I know what this means literally but what type of memory is this? The error also mentioned something called directdraw.

I went and deleted a bunch of backup alice world files I don't need anymore and that seemed to solve it. But this error made me lose some work.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 07-25-2009, 11:23 PM

Where are you saving your worlds and backups to? I've never had that problem personally, but I've hed similar problems that were solved in a similar way, but I was saving my files to a memory stick. If you're doing that, the directory could just be full.


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Veryuhbull
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 07-25-2009, 11:34 PM

It was my hard drive on a new comp with a ton of memory. This file in question is 18mbs (and no where near finished.) I had a bucnh of useless backups I deleted which should clear up space.

Last edited by Veryuhbull; 07-25-2009 at 11:41 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 07-26-2009, 12:06 AM

Strange...the only thing I could think of then is maybe your computer is restricting how large the directory can be. Again, this has happened to me before as well.

Right click the folder where the files are being saved and click properties, then look at how large the directory itself is in Mb's.


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
DrJim
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 07-31-2009, 03:05 PM

Been busy otherwise so I missed this message. I can give you the "why" but not a fix.

What is basically happening (I really don't understand the details either ) is that you are trying to write a file and the computer can't find enough "free" space to put it. This in fact can happen even if you have a lot of free disk space but are out of enough buffer memory to write a complete file. Memory management can't handle, for example, being only able to buffer half of a .jpeg frame - since the (somewhat dumb) compression algorithm needs the whole file.

You can go into system menu and try increasing buffer space - sometimes the error message actually gives you this option - but that's not always the cure. Other than that, either (1) avoid large files or look on the web for a more complete explaination.

Sorry I can't help more.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2021, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.