Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > General Discussion > Questions and Comments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
What the ****!!!
Old
DemonBoy113
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 44
Join Date: Nov 2009
Angry What the ****!!! - 12-10-2009, 08:11 PM

i just finished four days of work on alice and when i was saving, maby one centimeter away from the bar finishing it closed the program....and when i tried reloading it said "error world doesnt exist." does any one know why?!?!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dameria
Senior Member
 
Dameria's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 978
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Default 12-10-2009, 08:14 PM

Wow, maybe you should save more often. Oh well, that is why Alice has backups. Go to the folder you saved the world on and you should see another folder with your work on it. Alice backs it up every hour or so I think, so you would have to redo any work that you did within the time the backup was made and the time you finished.

If the backup is corrupted, then I don't know what to say for you, sorry.

Last edited by Dameria; 12-10-2009 at 08:29 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
DemonBoy113
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 44
Join Date: Nov 2009
Default 12-10-2009, 08:44 PM

i saved every fifteen minutes, but when I last saved it just shut down. but yea the backups thank you
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dameria
Senior Member
 
Dameria's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 978
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Default 12-10-2009, 08:47 PM

K, just make sure this time you try to see what caused the error, and try to avoid it before saving again.

EDIT: Woot, this is my 111th post


Check out my best projects so far and please comment:

Tic-Tac-Toe 2.0 ................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3548
Alice Paint ........................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=23408
Real-Time Clock .................. http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=12725
Maze Game ......................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4301
   
Reply With Quote
Old
jediaction
Senior Member
 
jediaction's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,064
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bel Air, Maryland
Default 12-11-2009, 08:12 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by DemonBoy113 View Post
i just finished four days of work on alice and when i was saving, maby one centimeter away from the bar finishing it closed the program....and when i tried reloading it said "error world doesnt exist." does any one know why?!?!
I had the exact same problem, that would happen because if you put a sound file in that alice can not play it freezes up and that could close the program easy. for my modern warfare game, i lost a lot of work, so i had to post a back up. I know how you feel, What i kept doing is saving it to different locatoins on the computer like my documents. Then delete the others and it should work for a while, then in mabye a week, save it in another spot

This has happened to me before so i know how to fix it


Website: www.salokingames.com
FaceBook: www.facebook.com/SalokinGames
   
Reply With Quote
Old
DemonBoy113
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 44
Join Date: Nov 2009
Default 12-11-2009, 04:05 PM

thank you i will try this..because it just happened again.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
DemonBoy113
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 44
Join Date: Nov 2009
Default 12-14-2009, 12:24 PM

would it shut down if you have to many objects because i have alot...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
reuben2011
Senior Member
 
reuben2011's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 489
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hawaii
Default 12-14-2009, 05:01 PM

I have a few games with alot of objects and they don't crash or anything. I do have a problem once in a while when its almost done saving and then Alice just closes.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
rockstar442
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 12-14-2009, 06:31 PM

maybe you should delete the alice you have and download it again it might work better thats what happened to my friend and his is working better now
   
Reply With Quote
Old
DemonBoy113
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 44
Join Date: Nov 2009
Default 12-14-2009, 07:01 PM

for the record i have 345 objects and growing (not including light,camera ground.)is that alot for alice?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2020, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.