Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > General Discussion > The Lounge

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Lab 3
Old
Petit Suisse
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 46
Join Date: Jul 2015
Default Lab 3 - 07-30-2015, 10:04 PM

So I have an issue where, when I close down and want to work on my world later, it can't load. I have an additional event and a few whiles in there. This happened yesterday and I thought ok, just make another one. Now my second one won't load, so before I start over on a 3rd version...what could be causing this?

The task is to create a world with a cone and rings falling from the sky, which you catch with the cone. So nothing too crazy.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Petit Suisse
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 46
Join Date: Jul 2015
Default 07-30-2015, 11:39 PM

Nooooooooooooooooooooo, I got everything working, closed it and same issue again. Ugh. What is this?




Unable to load world

Alice version: 2.3.5

os.name: Windows NT (unknown)

os.version: 6.2

os.arch: x86

java.vm.name: Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM

java.vm.version: 20.0-b11

user.dir: M:\El Centro College\El Centro Course Files\2015\Semester Summer 2\Programming Logic\Alice2.3\Alice 2.3\Required



Throwable that caused the error:

java.lang.RuntimeException: NoSuchMethodException:class javax.vecmath.Matrix4d

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Property.getValueOf(P roperty.java:578)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Property.decodeObject (Property.java:641)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Property.decode(Prope rty.java:656)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.load(Element. java:1478)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.load(Element. java:1495)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.load(Element. java:1495)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.load(Element. java:1543)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.authoringtool.dialog.LoadE lementProgressPane.construct(LoadElementProgressPa ne.java:42)

at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.progress.ProgressPane$2.run(Prog ressPane.java:86)

at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:662)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Petit Suisse
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 46
Join Date: Jul 2015
Default 07-30-2015, 11:48 PM

I can't find that in elementdata:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<element class="edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.World" name="world" version="2.001">
<child filename="renderTarget"/>
<child filename="my first method"/>
<child filename="camera"/>
<child filename="light"/>
<child filename="ground"/>
<child filename="cone"/>
<child filename="ring"/>
<child filename="numberText"/>
<child filename="ringCountNr"/>
<child filename="event"/>
<child filename="moveCone"/>
<child filename="ringsDrop"/>
<child filename="event2"/>
<child filename="test"/>
<child filename="event3"/>
<property componentClass="edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Sandb ox" name="sandboxes">
<item criterionClass="edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.crite rion.InternalReferenceKeyedCriterion">camera</item>
<item criterionClass="edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.crite rion.InternalReferenceKeyedCriterion">light</item>
<item criterionClass="edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.crite rion.InternalReferenceKeyedCriterion">ground</item>
<item criterionClass="edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.crite rion.InternalReferenceKeyedCriterion">cone</item>
<item criterionClass="edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.crite rion.InternalReferenceKeyedCriterion">ring</item>
<item criterionClass="edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.crite rion.InternalReferenceKeyedCriterion">numberText</item>
</property>
<property name="groups"/>
<property name="atmosphereColor">
<red>0.290196</red>
<green>0.490196</green>
<blue>0.8</blue>
<alpha>1.0</alpha>
</property>
<property name="ambientLightColor">
<red>0.2901961</red>
<green>0.2901961</green>
<blue>0.2901961</blue>
<alpha>1.0</alpha>
</property>
<property class="java.lang.Double" name="ambientLightBrightness">1.0</property>
<property class="edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.FogStyle" name="fogStyle">edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.FogSt yle[NONE]</property>
<property class="java.lang.Double" name="fogDensity">0.1</property>
<property class="java.lang.Double" name="fogNearDistance">1.0</property>
<property class="java.lang.Double" name="fogFarDistance">256.0</property>
<property name="bubbles"/>
<property class="java.lang.Double" name="speedMultiplier">1.0</property>
<property name="eventsStopAscending"/>
<property name="isBoundingBoxShowing">false</property>
<property name="isBoundingSphereShowing">false</property>
<property name="script">java.io.File[script.py]</property>
<property componentClass="edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Respo nse" name="responses">
<item criterionClass="edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.crite rion.InternalReferenceKeyedCriterion"><![CDATA[my first method]]></item>
<item criterionClass="edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.crite rion.InternalReferenceKeyedCriterion">ringsDrop</item>
<item criterionClass="edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.crite rion.InternalReferenceKeyedCriterion">test</item>
</property>
<property componentClass="edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Behav ior" name="behaviors">
<item criterionClass="edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.crite rion.InternalReferenceKeyedCriterion">event3</item>
<item criterionClass="edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.crite rion.InternalReferenceKeyedCriterion">event2</item>
<item criterionClass="edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.crite rion.InternalReferenceKeyedCriterion">event</item>
</property>
<property componentClass="edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Varia ble" name="variables">
<item criterionClass="edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.crite rion.InternalReferenceKeyedCriterion">ringCountNr</item>
<item criterionClass="edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.crite rion.InternalReferenceKeyedCriterion">moveCone</item>
</property>
<property name="questions"/>
<property name="textureMaps"/>
<property name="sounds"/>
<property name="geometries"/>
<property name="misc"/>
<property name="isFirstClass">false</property>
<property name="data">
<entry>
<key class="java.lang.String">edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.a uthoringtool.playCount</key>
<value class="java.lang.String">39</value>
</entry>
<entry>
<key class="java.lang.String">edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.a uthoringtool.tabObjects</key>
<value class="java.lang.String"><![CDATA[world.my first method:world.ringsDrop:]]></value>
</entry>
<entry>
<key class="java.lang.String">edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.a uthoringtool.worldOpenTime</key>
<value class="java.lang.String">6262398</value>
</entry>
<entry>
<key class="java.lang.String">edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.a uthoringtool.saveCount</key>
<value class="java.lang.String">19</value>
</entry>
</property>
</element>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Petit Suisse
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 46
Join Date: Jul 2015
Default 07-31-2015, 12:16 AM

Ok, I don't have time to go looking for the error. I'm certain there's a conflict in my events. In this case it's better to start again, and it'll help me learn. I will also only add one event to this version. And if it doesn't work then...I'll come rant on here.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Petit Suisse
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 46
Join Date: Jul 2015
Default 07-31-2015, 08:00 PM

Ok, so I emailed our teacher with questions and was given the advice to work on one method at a time, and then to save that as an individual version before I add any other methods, and then do the same with those. That was so helpful to me. I thought my events were causing the run time error, but by working as Tim advised me above, I found out that the trick I was using to keep the ring within the screen, was causing the problem. I had used the property pointofview=position to reset the ring after it dropped so it would always start at the same position. This worked great while the world was open, but then was quite useless, as after closing a world it was no longer accessible. Anyhow after failing what felt like 100 times, I finally have a working version. OH EM GEE!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
chickentree
Super Moderator
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 250
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Frosno, Ca
Default 08-02-2015, 12:21 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Petit Suisse View Post
Ok, so I emailed our teacher with questions and was given the advice to work on one method at a time, and then to save that as an individual version before I add any other methods, and then do the same with those. That was so helpful to me. I thought my events were causing the run time error, but by working as Tim advised me above, I found out that the trick I was using to keep the ring within the screen, was causing the problem. I had used the property pointofview=position to reset the ring after it dropped so it would always start at the same position. This worked great while the world was open, but then was quite useless, as after closing a world it was no longer accessible. Anyhow after failing what felt like 100 times, I finally have a working version. OH EM GEE!
Three quick points:
  1. The problem you were having was not you, It was Alice. I am not exactly sure what you were trying to do but Alice should not save a movie and then refuse to open it. I point this out because this type of problem is frustrating and NOT YOUR FAULT.
  2. The best way to get an object back to a specific location is to place a dummy object at the location and then move the original object to the dummy to reset its position.
  3. In this type of environment you must be very careful using '='. If the two values are not exactly the same your = will return false. =<, => or within x of object are much better choices in an interactive environment.
I usually name the dummy objects as if you use more than one or two things start to get confusing.


Mark Henwood
mhenwood@ieee.org
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2024, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x © 1999-2012, Alice 3.x © 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.