Alice Community

Alice Community (http://www.alice.org/community/index.php)
-   How do I...? (http://www.alice.org/community/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Where do I find "int a as a String" (http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=8293)

mwreve 04-02-2012 12:18 PM

Where do I find "int a as a String"
 
In Alice 2.2 I have been looking for the command "int a as String" from this thread:
[url]http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=6463[/url]

but I can't find it any where in the World Functions.
What am I missing? Where is that command?

Thanks.

dakota95 04-02-2012 12:21 PM

It is in the worlds functions close to the bottom.
[URL="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JWemFRHGv-I&list=UUyffbCCnD1B_izgfQNaJLjg&index=30&feature=plcp"]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JWemFRHGv-I&list=UUyffbCCnD1B_izgfQNaJLjg&index=30&feature=plcp[/URL]
try this link, it is a Youtube tutorial made by Sfunkthat shows how to use 3d text as a number variable. Somewhere in this video he shows where the "int a as a string" is located

mwreve 04-02-2012 12:45 PM

It's not there
 
Thanks, now I know where it should be.
On my copy it is not there.
I just tried with the latest version of Alice 2.2 (03/01/2012).
The last thing on my list is "the bth root of a".
The "int a as a String" is not there.

x2495iiii 04-02-2012 01:00 PM

Time to try an older version.

I'm using this one at the moment.

[url]http://www.cs.purdue.edu/homes/aik_min/[/url]

mwreve 04-02-2012 09:48 PM

I tried 3 versions of Alice 2.2 on my schools computers and 2 different versions of Alice 2.2 on my home computer, including the older version posted above. None had "int a as a String".
But then I noticed a little unlabeled command where that command should be.
When I drag it in I just get "More" with a down arrow. But sure enough if I pick my variable with the down arrow I do get the functionality of converting to an int.
Very, Very weird.
But it works!
Thanks for the help.
[IMG]http://www.laurareivephotography.com/images2/int_as_string.jpg[/IMG]

aikmin 04-02-2012 10:33 PM

Fix for missing item
 
Download and replace your old C:\Users\...\Alice 2.2\Required\resources\en\Alice Style.py with this.

[url]www.cs.purdue.edu/homes/aik_min/Alice Style.zip[/url]

mwreve 04-02-2012 10:48 PM

That fixed it.
Now it shows up properly under the World Functions.

Thanks.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06 PM.

Copyright ©2020, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.