Alice Community

Alice Community (http://www.alice.org/community/index.php)
-   Questions and Comments (http://www.alice.org/community/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   What the ****!!! (http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3589)

DemonBoy113 12-10-2009 08:11 PM

What the ****!!!
 
i just finished four days of work on alice and when i was saving, maby one centimeter away from the bar finishing it closed the program....and when i tried reloading it said "error world doesnt exist." does any one know why?!?!:mad::mad::mad::mad:

Dameria 12-10-2009 08:14 PM

:eek: Wow, maybe you should save more often. Oh well, that is why Alice has backups. Go to the folder you saved the world on and you should see another folder with your work on it. Alice backs it up every hour or so I think, so you would have to redo any work that you did within the time the backup was made and the time you finished.

If the backup is corrupted, then I don't know what to say for you, sorry.

DemonBoy113 12-10-2009 08:44 PM

i saved every fifteen minutes, but when I last saved it just shut down:(. but yea the backups thank you

Dameria 12-10-2009 08:47 PM

K, just make sure this time you try to see what caused the error, and try to avoid it before saving again.

EDIT: Woot, this is my 111th post

jediaction 12-11-2009 08:12 AM

[QUOTE=DemonBoy113;14310]i just finished four days of work on alice and when i was saving, maby one centimeter away from the bar finishing it closed the program....and when i tried reloading it said "error world doesnt exist." does any one know why?!?!:mad::mad::mad::mad:[/QUOTE]

I had the exact same problem, that would happen because if you put a sound file in that alice can not play it freezes up and that could close the program easy. for my modern warfare game, i lost a lot of work, so i had to post a back up. I know how you feel, What i kept doing is saving it to different locatoins on the computer like my documents. Then delete the others and it should work for a while, then in mabye a week, save it in another spot

This has happened to me before so i know how to fix it

DemonBoy113 12-11-2009 04:05 PM

thank you i will try this..because it just happened again.

DemonBoy113 12-14-2009 12:24 PM

would it shut down if you have to many objects because i have alot...

reuben2011 12-14-2009 05:01 PM

I have a few games with alot of objects and they don't crash or anything. I do have a problem once in a while when its almost done saving and then Alice just closes.

rockstar442 12-14-2009 06:31 PM

maybe you should delete the alice you have and download it again it might work better thats what happened to my friend and his is working better now

DemonBoy113 12-14-2009 07:01 PM

for the record i have 345 objects and growing (not including light,camera ground.)is that alot for alice?

rockstar442 12-14-2009 07:08 PM

ok wow just on one programm????? i mean if you are using the old version of alice than that might be to much lower the amount increase the size if you want to create and affect like that its a huge army or somthing

DemonBoy113 12-14-2009 07:20 PM

im using alice 2.2 sooo i dont know...

rockstar442 12-14-2009 07:35 PM

then yeah it is i mean Alice 2.2 has a higher capacity to hold items but yeah your using too many items

DemonBoy113 12-14-2009 08:16 PM

uh huh ok ill think of something. thank you

Dameria 12-14-2009 08:30 PM

I would say yes, that is a lot. When you open up to choose what object you want, does your list just go past the monitor's length because there are so many? If so you should add groups to organize it.

x2495iiii 12-14-2009 10:09 PM

You might want to organize those objects as best you can. To do so, right click a blank area in the item tree, then select create group, then name the group and drag objects into the folder. Now, when the list of the objects in your world pops up, the folder's name will show up, allowing you to click on it to access those objects as options, This means the list won't go off the screen anymore, and the item tree will shrink to a much more manageable size (though dragging them can be slow, in my opinion it's worth it). One tip though, start with the objects at the bottom, so you can drag them easily to where the new folder is created.

DemonBoy113 12-15-2009 03:34 PM

i have organized them after i got a lot of objects thats the first thing i did

x2495iiii 12-15-2009 03:46 PM

Really? Good job! Now the second thing you need to do to try and push the limit is make sure that any items that are offscreen are not showing (isShowing = false) to speed up processing power (this is while your world is playing, not while you're editing it).

DemonBoy113 12-15-2009 03:58 PM

huh..thats awesome ill try that now

Dameria 12-15-2009 04:08 PM

I don't think this will help with your save issue though, this is only if there is lag during your game. It also does not lower file size, if anything it ads file size because it involves more coding (I think, I have never done it).

By the way x2495iiii, how do you do the code to make items disappear when the camera is not looking at them?

DemonBoy113 12-15-2009 04:19 PM

Dameria, you are right my save issue is still at hand because the (isshowing=false) thing just reduses lag. By the way I forgot to tell you I'm making a war movie and a majority of the objects are guns:D

x2495iiii 12-15-2009 04:21 PM

You have to be creative. You could try and use the camera's functions, like is in front of, to determine if the object should be showing or not, or you could maybe use the orientation of the camera to determine what shows and what doesn't. I personally would probably try a mix of both.

It'd be nice is there was some sort of "object's distance from the left side of screen" function to allow for things like thigs to be easier, but for now there isn't.

x2495iiii 12-15-2009 04:25 PM

[QUOTE=DemonBoy113;14626]By the way I forgot to tell you I'm making a war movie and a majority of the objects are guns:D[/QUOTE]

(I seriously cracked up when I read that) Geez, you guys are gonna get me SO yelled at:).

Well, just make sure no one's dismemebered in your movie, alright?

DemonBoy113 12-15-2009 04:27 PM

i think it might just be the size of the file. because i've seen plenty of games here at the forums and they are pretty low on objects. except for Jediaction's cod:mw but that didnt look like it had 345 objects so, i'm gunna delete some pointless thing to see if it saves.

jediaction 01-06-2010 10:36 AM

[QUOTE=DemonBoy113;14509]would it shut down if you have to many objects because i have alot...[/QUOTE]

Mines would crash so i would have to say yes


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:52 AM.

Copyright ©2020, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.