Alice Community

Alice Community (http://www.alice.org/community/index.php)
-   Bugs and Troubleshooting (http://www.alice.org/community/forumdisplay.php?f=18)
-   -   *serious* memory leaks using software rendering (http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3754)

stefan 01-11-2010 07:01 AM

*serious* memory leaks using software rendering
 
[IMG]http://img42.imageshack.us/img42/8564/alicecpu.png[/IMG]
see the picture, for those who cant see it, it shows the task manager on the "performance" tab that shows an increasing amount of memory usage, at a certain point alice crashes whiteout warning

im using alice 2.2, using whit the "force software rendering" box checked (the world does not load otherwise.... though it does on school computers running XP)
the .exe runs whit visual themes disabled, because i felt like checking that box, i dont think it matters.

the world itself is about 20 MB large... made on various school computers, all running alice 2.2

any thoughts on this issue? leaking 4MB every second ain't nice..

my specs:
win 7 ultimate 64 bit
4 gb of ram
2.4 ghz c2d (mobile variant)
ati 4570 graphics card

jediaction 01-11-2010 07:32 AM

1. The picture does not show

2.Do fix this problem in 1 way, is make many objects that you do not see showing = false, it willl save your computer from crashing. It lowers down the memory usage

stefan 01-11-2010 08:33 AM

1 Attachment(s)
i dont care about "fixing" this problem as it works fine on school computers, dito on vmware running XP (aside from performance issues...)

just reporting an big bug:)

x2495iiii 01-11-2010 08:36 AM

Thanks for reporting. Hopefully, Alice 3.0 will be free of this bug.

jediaction 01-11-2010 09:00 AM

Memory leaks are a big problem, mabye in Alice 3, there will be no need for showing = false stuff

gabe 01-12-2010 09:23 AM

Alice 3 is much better at handling resources.

meirs 02-14-2010 07:12 AM

In the meantime you could be using Mama, which is an improved version of Alice2.2, with memory leak problems solved: [url]http://en.eytam.com/mama[/url].

zonedabone 02-14-2010 07:43 AM

FALSE!!!!! Right click on your Alice application and click properties. Click the compatibility tab. check "run this program in compatibility mode for:" and select windows xp. Simple as that! Sheesh! That's what Windows is made for. I don't see why people don't know about it.,

jediaction 02-14-2010 08:10 AM

I dont like mama. I might start using it but for now, im living with Alice 2.2 and dealing with its bugs

zonedabone 02-14-2010 11:14 AM

meirs is a walking advertisement! These are the ALICE forums! Mama isn't the solution to everything. I used it, and it ran REALLY slow!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 PM.

Copyright ©2020, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.