Alice Community

Alice Community (http://www.alice.org/community/index.php)
-   Bugs and Troubleshooting (http://www.alice.org/community/forumdisplay.php?f=18)
-   -   Alice & Java VM issue (http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4038)

jmarshall120 03-06-2010 11:37 PM

Alice & Java VM issue
 
Hey all,

I recently begun using Alice for my computer science course. It works fine on all the institutions computers and all individual computers, except for mine.

What happesn to me is that, i click on "Alice.exe", the splash screen will come up saying "Loading..." then it will disappear and nothing happens. If i go into the sub-folder, there is an error log of the event.

I have seen similar errors with the Java VM, but nothing relating to Alice.

I have upgraded Java to Java 6 Update 18, still nothing.

Here is the error log, with the top part and the sytem part:

[CODE]#
# An unexpected error has been detected by HotSpot Virtual Machine:
#
# EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION (0xc0000005) at pc=0x7580d9ef, pid=2132, tid=1228
#
# Java VM: Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (1.5.0_11-b03 mixed mode)
# Problematic frame:
# C [KERNELBASE.dll+0x2d9ef]
#


--------------- S Y S T E M ---------------

OS: Windows NT 6.1 Build 7600

CPU:total 2 (cores per cpu 2, threads per core 1) family 6 model 15 stepping 13, cmov, cx8, fxsr, mmx, sse, sse2

Memory: 4k page, physical 4192696k(3023864k free), swap 4194303k(4194303k free)

vm_info: Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (1.5.0_11-b03) for windows-x86, built on Dec 15 2006 01:16:12 by "java_re" with MS VC++ 6.0

[/CODE]


Any ideas?

Thank you.

Niteshifter 03-07-2010 12:08 AM

The last time I had a problem similar to that (alice closing by itself for no reason at splash screen) was when I had to reformat because of corrupted files. I would recommend backing up your files (just in case) and running a disk check.

I've searched for a site that could also explain your problem and different fixes, so try the things on the site, then do the above.

site: [url]http://www.updatexp.com/0xC0000005.html[/url]

jmarshall120 03-09-2010 10:05 PM

Fixed it up now.

I had previously played with the compatibility settings, but decided to go over it again. I made sure it was set to Windows XP SP 2 compatability and now it runs.

Had a few minor display issues, but i fixed that by changing the computers effects to Windows 7 Basic, instead of aero or whatever i had.

Thanks


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:01 PM.

Copyright ©2020, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.