Alice Community

Alice Community (http://www.alice.org/community/index.php)
-   Suggestion Box (http://www.alice.org/community/forumdisplay.php?f=26)
-   -   CanI create the pacman game in alice ? (http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4297)

Waleed 04-26-2010 08:23 AM

CanI create the pacman game in alice ?
 
hey everyone I have an assignment and i have to ccreate a game
I was just thinking of making pacman game but im not sure if i will be able to make it properly

wat do you guys think any suggestions?

i need your advices please help me , thanks

Niteshifter 04-26-2010 05:19 PM

It is possible to create a pacman game, The easy part would be programming the game, the hard/annoying part would be to figure out the setup of the game and inserting all the objects into the game (since you can't create/destroy in real time).

noahx23 04-26-2010 07:31 PM

[QUOTE=Niteshifter;20385]It is possible to create a pacman game, The easy part would be programming the game, the hard/annoying part would be to figure out the setup of the game and inserting all the objects into the game (since you can't create/destroy in real time).[/QUOTE]

That and the fact that it would be [I]really[/I] hard to make an AI for the ghosts.

bjia56 04-26-2010 09:01 PM

[QUOTE=Waleed;20359]hey everyone I have an assignment and i have to ccreate a game
I was just thinking of making pacman game but im not sure if i will be able to make it properly

wat do you guys think any suggestions?

i need your advices please help me , thanks[/QUOTE]

Anything's possible!!!

You will need to make the maze and probably fill the walls with cubes or something so the player cannot pass through.

For the PacMan pills or whatever he eats, make a list of every pill you use and manually insert them into the maze, then have something like this:

[CODE]
for all together (list_of_pills)
[
if (PacMan) distance to (item_from_list_of_pills) <= (whatever number you want)
[
(item_from_list_of_pills) is showing set to false
score_variable increase by (whatever number you want)
]
]
[/CODE]

For the ghost AI, you can place an invisible marker at each intersection and have code that picks a random direction.

The hardest part you will find would be, in my opinion, the wall collision detection.

jediaction 04-27-2010 05:27 PM

There is an example. I dont kow who its by but a car knows what path your on and it follows you. Um, once you have the set...

Advice: Dont add anything extra and there is not much we can say. What kind of advice are you looking for?

Dameria 04-27-2010 05:35 PM

Hmm, I might just make a pacman game now, I think I could be able to do it.

For the maze itself, you could just take a 2d picture off of the internet of the blank pacman board, and then just add stuff from there. This would make things a lot easier and require a lot less objects to create the maze. Do you think its alright if I try to create my own version on my own time?

Niteshifter 04-27-2010 05:37 PM

[QUOTE=noahx23;20389]That and the fact that it would be [I]really[/I] hard to make an AI for the ghosts.[/QUOTE]

The AI is fairly easy if you know what you're doing, the only drawback for this is the lack of memory since Alice is 3D and not 2D, so it'll be a bit slow.

Dameria 04-27-2010 05:58 PM

I was going to do this for my version, but if you really want to know a good idea for this, here is my advice:

Use the 2d image of pacman for the maze, and then at every corner, put a cube or some other low-polygon object and put them into their own list. Then you can use each of those as a turning point for both the pacman and the ghosts, and you can just make the pacman and 1/4 rotation at every turning point if you happen to input either an up, down, left, or right on keypad.

Well, thats what I am planning on doing, but do what you want. If you want any other help or come into any other problems, I will help you.

jediaction 04-28-2010 07:13 AM

I just might to now. Whats with pacman, its so cool!

Waleed 04-29-2010 12:36 PM

Hey!
 
[QUOTE=Dameria;20448]I was going to do this for my version, but if you really want to know a good idea for this, here is my advice:

Use the 2d image of pacman for the maze, and then at every corner, put a cube or some other low-polygon object and put them into their own list. Then you can use each of those as a turning point for both the pacman and the ghosts, and you can just make the pacman and 1/4 rotation at every turning point if you happen to input either an up, down, left, or right on keypad.

Well, thats what I am planning on doing, but do what you want. If you want any other help or come into any other problems, I will help you.[/QUOTE]


hey thanks so much for your help...
by the looks of it it looks like your a very skilled programmer in alice
but me on the other im actually a biggener and im not really good at it .
I really like the idea and im really greatful that your making your the pacman game also that way when im making it also..and if i run into any problems i could ask your for help.. but i just wanted to ask will it ber okay with you if ask a too many questions cuz i know i will i hope you dont get annoyed. :)

I really havent started programming so yeah ..im styl thinking abt but now that I know its possible to create pacman im really happy and can start working on it :)

oh and you know how yoou said use a 2d image of the pacman maaze how would i export into my world in alice can you please explain it to me ?

thanks again.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 PM.

Copyright ©2024, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x © 1999-2012, Alice 3.x © 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.