Alice Community

Alice Community (http://www.alice.org/community/index.php)
-   Questions and Comments (http://www.alice.org/community/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Anyone else get this problem? (http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=5726)

Akira101 12-17-2010 12:37 PM

Anyone else get this problem?
 
I download, modified it (with audacity) and add an .mp3 file to alice, but when i run the method with the sound, say i gunshot, the sound is about 0.15 seconds long and the sound plays at random locations of the sound. Sometimes it plays the full sound, sometimes it plays from the middle of the sound, and sometimes you don't even hear it. I'm running Alice 2.2 on a school computer, can any of you guys help out?

CodyAM1993 12-17-2010 03:51 PM

I've never had this particular problem, but I have experienced many problems with using mp3 formatted audio files in Alice. I try to use .wav files in Alice and haven't had a problem with them yet. Audacity makes it very easy to export your sound files to .wav so I would give it a shot. However, it may also be the way in which you coded your sound file to play. If you continue to have problems post your Alice project and I can look at it. Although I haven't had an Alice account for very long, I have been using Alice for many months now and am very familiar with its bugs. Good luck!

David B 12-17-2010 04:27 PM

I have a feeling that this is a bug that I should report, because when I add sound to an Alice Animation, one of two things happen to me.

1.) The problem "Akira101" describes happens.
2.) When I go to play my world, I receive an error message saying that the world has failed to run.

falcolobo 12-21-2010 06:41 PM

Well Alice IS just created by a bunch of college people. And it ALSO was written in JAVA. So it isn't the most perfect thing in the world. But this problem is strange. I once added a long song for back ground music, but this never happened...maybe to fix your problem you can add another if/else or a if pressed button. Say that if the player right clicks a gun, then the animation happens, but also a gun shot sound is played. Maybeit can put together in a "do together" block? I'm not 100% sure though.

sarkarinaukris 01-08-2011 03:16 AM

i face the same issue, please tell me how to fix it

arty-fishL 01-08-2011 07:01 AM

[QUOTE=falcolobo;29964]Say that if the player right clicks a gun[/QUOTE]
right clicks?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34 AM.

Copyright ©2020, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.