Alice Community

Alice Community (http://www.alice.org/community/index.php)
-   Bugs and Troubleshooting (http://www.alice.org/community/forumdisplay.php?f=18)
-   -   Out of Bounds Exception Error (http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=1311)

ziggy2282 04-10-2008 11:11 AM

Out of Bounds Exception Error
 
Hi, I am having trouble getting Storytelling Alice to run on some of my machines. All the computers are the same: Win Vista, 2GB Ram, AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4200+ 2.20 Ghz. Everything is currently up to date, and the latest java build is installed. On some computers, Alice starts and runs fine. On others, I get this error message with the splash screen:

[I]Alice version: Storytelling Alice 10/01/2007
os.name: Windows NT (unknown)
os.version: 6.0
os.arch: x86
java.vm.name: Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM
java.vm.version: 1.5.0_05-b05
user.dir: C:\Users\Owner\Desktop\Storytelling Alice\Required

java.lang.ArrayIndexOutOfBoundsException: Array index out of range: 5
at java.util.Vector.get(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.plaf.basic.BasicDirectoryModel.getElementAt(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.plaf.basic.BasicListUI.updateLayoutState(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.plaf.basic.BasicListUI.maybeUpdateLayoutState(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.plaf.basic.BasicListUI.getCellBounds(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.JList.getCellBounds(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.JList.ensureIndexIsVisible(Unknown Source)
at sun.swing.FilePane.ensureIndexIsVisible(Unknown Source)
at sun.swing.FilePane.doDirectoryChanged(Unknown Source)
at sun.swing.FilePane.propertyChange(Unknown Source)
at java.beans.PropertyChangeSupport.firePropertyChange(Unknown Source)
at java.beans.PropertyChangeSupport.firePropertyChange(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.firePropertyChange(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.JFileChooser.setCurrentDirectory(Unknown Source)
at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.authoringtool.dialog.SaveForWebContentPane.guiInit(SaveForWebContentPane.java:222)
at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.authoringtool.dialog.SaveForWebContentPane.<init>(SaveForWebContentPane.java:42)
at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.authoringtool.AuthoringTool.dialogInit(AuthoringTool.java:605)
at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.authoringtool.AuthoringTool.<init>(AuthoringTool.java:385)
at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.authoringtool.JAlice.main(JAlice.java:132)[/I]


Of the machines that produce this error, the only line that appears to change (just the number at the end) in the report is this:

java.lang.ArrayIndexOutOfBoundsException: Array index out of range: 5


Any help would be greatly appreciated!

annis 06-17-2008 08:22 PM

hack
 
I have no clue as to what is happening. I did seem to find a workaround.

Run a pair of Alice executables in succession quickly.

I went to the Alice folder using the command line, and ran
Alice.exe twice, quickly. This seems to work. Three copies, even.

I've seen it work using the desktop icons but it doesn't seem as sure.

A regrettable hack, but hey, it works for us.

mackey 07-09-2009 02:44 PM

ArrayOutOfBound Exception
 
Hello,

I am not sure if your issue is resolved yet but perhaps this helps to get your problem more clear.

First something about an Array.. consider an Array to be sort of a list with an index or as I call it positions from 0 to your Array end.

Each position can contain an object or a variable or a null value which is stored in the memory for later use. (as long as the program is running ofc) :)

What likely could have happened is that your program tried to access a position which is OUTside the array, hence the "out of bound" exception. ;)

Simple example.. you have an array length of 10 (positions from 0 - 9) you try to access position #10.. BOOM array out of bound.

Hope it helps.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54 PM.

Copyright ©2020, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.