Alice Community

Alice Community (http://www.alice.org/community/index.php)
-   Questions and Comments (http://www.alice.org/community/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   MacBook Air (http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=10665)

luvdamac 06-07-2014 07:09 AM

MacBook Air
 
Hello all,
I am just dipping my toes into coding and got Alice recommended to me. I cannot install on my MB Air with mountain lion. I unpack the download and go to start the install but it just closes.

I couldn't find any information as to why it is doing it, any help would be highly regarded.

Cheers

MrMoke 06-07-2014 10:11 AM

Check Download instructions.
 
The download/install instructions on the Alice Website mention possible problems with installing to Macs, and suggest the workarounds.

Several items specifically mention problems with Mountain Lion and Mavericks.

hope this helps.

[url]http://alice3.pbworks.com/w/page/57571530/Gatekeeper%20on%20Mac%20OS%2010_8#UnidentifiedDeveloper[/url]

luvdamac 06-07-2014 08:44 PM

[QUOTE=MrMoke;54545]The download/install instructions on the Alice Website mention possible problems with installing to Macs, and suggest the workarounds.

Several items specifically mention problems with Mountain Lion and Mavericks.

hope this helps.

[url]http://alice3.pbworks.com/w/page/57571530/Gatekeeper%20on%20Mac%20OS%2010_8#UnidentifiedDeveloper[/url][/QUOTE]

Thanks MrMoke, I have read this and seems as though I am not getting any security warning and I have installed the latest Java, I did not think this would be causing the issue. When I click on the install Alice icon, it bounces on the dock a few times then just disappears.

Cheers,

MrMoke 06-07-2014 10:35 PM

Oops
 
I forgot to ask which version of Alice you were installing. Alice2 or Alice3. This might help the Alice guys if they are watching.

I assumed it was 3, but there are problems with 2 also.

[url]http://alice3.pbworks.com/w/page/1756703/Alice%20help[/url]

jrrTolkien 06-08-2014 04:13 PM

Yeah, I have only had problems with Alice 3, so I'm pretty sure that what luvdamac is trying to get.

-jrr

luvdamac 06-09-2014 03:22 AM

[QUOTE=jrrTolkien;54552]Yeah, I have only had problems with Alice 3, so I'm pretty sure that what luvdamac is trying to get.

-jrr[/QUOTE]

sorry for delay guys, yes I am trying 3 (thinking it would be sorted with any issues). Here is an image of the system. Which knowing my lack of technical things - is not sufficient..

[url]https://www.dropbox.com/s/8gyfziertw8ftlt/System.tiff[/url]

jrrTolkien 06-09-2014 11:19 AM

What happens?
 
Oh, hey, you use dropbox, too! Anyway, could you post an image of the error message you get? And if you can't get it to work, Alice 2 works very well, too.

-Jrr

luvdamac 06-09-2014 04:48 PM

[QUOTE=jrrTolkien;54556]Oh, hey, you use dropbox, too! Anyway, could you post an image of the error message you get? And if you can't get it to work, Alice 2 works very well, too.

-Jrr[/QUOTE]

Hi Jrr,

As mentioned earlier, there is no error message. The icon bounces in the dock a few times then just disappears.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51 AM.

Copyright ©2020, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.